Home> >

005_clever : Using Clever tool to provide 3D view

005_clever : Using Clever tool to provide 3D view

005_clever : Using Clever tool to provide 3D view

Minimum Required Version: Expert 4.10.39.R, CLEVER 3.8.31.R

Expert allows CLEVER to be run directly from the currently-editing cell, or its clipped-out rectangular area. It uses an already-existing CLEVER input deck, and generates 3-D interconnect structure which can be displayed in TonyPlot3D.

Parasitic capacitances and resistances can also be calculated on the generated 3-D structure based on the 3-D field solver using CLEVER.

By adding appropriate commands in the input deck, CLEVER can generate electrodes from normal text objects put in the layout.

The actual operation steps are as follows:

  • Start Expert and select File->Open to load the GDSII file integration_ex05.gds without a technology file. A dialog box will appear to inform you that no technology file is specified. Click OK to proceed the operation.
  • Open the top cell INV_MET_POLY_COMB in Open Cell(s) dialog (see integration_ex05_1.png
    ).
  • Select Tools->3-D Image->Setup to open the DeckBuild setup dialog (see integration_ex05_2.png
    ).
  • Specify the CLEVER input deck integration_ex05.in in the Input file text field, and the CLEVER map file integration_ex05.map in the Map file text field. Also specify the output file integration_ex05.out, which does not exist before this example is run.
  • Click OK to close the dialog.
  • Select Tools->3-D Image->Cell . First, the DeckBuild window will appear, and CLEVER will run in it (see integration_ex05_3.png
    ).
    As soon as CLEVER finishes the processing, TonyPlot3D will appear to show the generated 3-D structure (see integration_ex05_4.png
    ).
  • Select Tools->3-D Image->Clip-out and specify a rectangular area overlapping a part of the layout. CLEVER will be executed again for the specified area, and Tonyplot3D will show the resultant 3-D structure (see integration_ex05_5.png
    ).

Graphics

integration_ex05_1.png
integration_ex05_2.png
integration_ex05_3.png
integration_ex05_4.png
integration_ex05_5.png

These examples are for reference only. Every software package contains a full set of examples suitable for that version and are installed with the software. If you see examples here that are not in your installation
you should consider updating to a later version of the software.

Input Files

integration_ex05.in


go clever

Init GDS2="integration_ex05.gds" cell="INV_MET_POLY_COMB" layermap="integration_ex05.map" Depth=10 Silicon Map="integration_ex05.lmp" gasheight=100

Electrode Substrate
material silicon conductivity = 1000

##############################
# Define thickness variables #
##############################
set fieldoxide_thick=0.35 nominal
set poly1_thick=0.22
set ild_thick=0.75
set metal1_thick=0.62
set metal2_thick=0.62
set metal3_thick=0.62 
set metal4_thick=0.62 
set metal5_thick=0.99 
set IMD1_thick=0.99
set IMD2_thick=0.99
set IMD3_thick=0.99
set IMD4_thick=0.99
set passiv_thick_ox=1.5
set passiv_thick_nit=1.2

##############################
# Define material variables  #
##############################
# set Perm_Gateox=0.0001
set Perm_Gateox=3.9
set Perm_OXIDE=3.9
set Perm_PMD=4.2
set Perm_FOX=3.9
set Perm_TEOS=4.2
set Perm_HDP=4.1
set Perm_NIT=6
set poly_conduct=1.0/(6*$poly1_thick*1e-4)
set lil_conduct=1.0/(0.285*$poly1_thick*1e-4)
set Al_conduct_1=1.0/(70e-3*$metal1_thick*1e-4)
set Al_conduct_2=1.0/(70e-3*$metal2_thick*1e-4)
set Al_conduct_3=1.0/(70e-3*$metal3_thick*1e-4)
set Al_conduct_4=1.0/(70e-3*$metal4_thick*1e-4)
set Al_conduct_5=1.0/(45e-3*$metal5_thick*1e-4)

## Process Description ##

## Trench
Mask "AA"
Etch Silicon Thickness=$"fieldoxide_thick" Max
Strip Resist
Deposit Oxide Thickness=0.0 Max

## Gate oxide level
Deposit Material("Gateox") Thickness=0.01 Max
Mask "*GATE" reverse
Etch Material("Gateox")
Strip Resist
deposit oxide  Thickness=0.0 Max

## Poly
Deposit material("poly") Thickness=$"poly1_thick" Max
Mask "CPOL"
Etch material("poly")
Strip Resist
Electrodes "*GATE" material("poly")
Electrodes "CPOL"  material("poly") 

## Contact 
deposit material("PMD") thickness=$"poly1_thick" Min
deposit material("PMD") thickness=$"ild_thick" Max
Mask "CCON" Reverse
Etch material("PMD")
Etch oxide
Strip Resist

## Stop Source/Drain/Substrate Contacts Shorting to Substrate ##
## since substrate is treated as conductor here in other examples##
## substrate is a dielectric and thus no problem of short circuit ##

Deposit Material("Gateox") Thickness=0.01 Min

## Named polygons will be converted into electrodes ##

Electrodes "*CONT" Material("Gateox")

## Metal 1 
deposit material("ALU1") thickness=$"metal1_thick" Max
Mask "CME1"
Etch material("ALU1")
Strip Resist
Electrodes "CME1"  material("ALU1") 

## passiv 
deposit material("TEOS") thickness=$"passiv_thick_ox" Max
deposit material("NIT") thickness=$"passiv_thick_nit" Max

###############################
# Assign materials parameters #
###############################
material material("poly")   conductivity=$poly_conduct
material material("ALU1")   conductivity=$Al_conduct_1
material material("TEOS")   permittivity=$Perm_TEOS
material material("PMD")    permittivity=$Perm_PMD
material material("NIT")    permittivity=$Perm_NIT
material Material("Gateox") permittivity=$Perm_Gateox
material material("ALU2")   conductivity=$Al_conduct_2
material material("ALU3")   conductivity=$Al_conduct_3
material material("HDP")    permittivity=$Perm_HDP

## Save the 3D structure
save  structure="integration_ex05.str"

## Parasitic Extraction ## 
# Extract the resistance but keep only those above 1ohm
Interconnect Resistance AdaptR=0.10 MinRES=1 structure="res"

# First a calculation is made with 5% for every electrodes. 
Interconnect Capacitance AdaptC=0.10 capsolver=1 structure="cap"

# Then Vdd since the precision asked is higher.
# Interconnect Capacitance contact="Vdd" adaptC=0.03 capsolver=1

# you can also precise all the electrodes with a precision from
# the lowest  to the highest
# Interconnect Capacitance contact="Vdd"    adapt=0.07 capsolver=1
# Interconnect Capacitance contact="Vss"    adapt=0.05 capsolver=1
# Interconnect Capacitance contact="In"     adapt=0.03 capsolver=1
# Interconnect Capacitance contact="Out"    adapt=0.02 capsolver=1

Save Spice="integration_ex05.net" 

tonyplot3d "integration_ex05.str"

quit

integration_ex05.lmp

; Define regions

And 	CNPI	CTOX	NACTIVE
And 	CPPI	CTOX	PACTIVE
And 	NACTIVE	CPOL	NGATE
And 	PACTIVE	CPOL	PGATE
And 	NACTIVE	!CPOL	NSD1
And 	PACTIVE	!CPOL	PSD1
And 	NSD1	!CNWI	NSD
And 	PSD1	CNWI	PSD

Not	!CNWI 	NSD	NSUB
Not 	CNWI 	PSD	PSUB
Not	CCON	CPOL	SICONT

; Define mask for trench isolation

Or	NACTIVE	PACTIVE	AA

; Export new masks

Export	SICONT
Export	NSD 
Export	NSUB 
Export	PSD 
Export	PSUB 
Export  NACTIVE
Export  PACTIVE
Export  NGATE
Export  PGATE
Export  NSD1
Export  PSD1
Export	AA

; Define connectivity

Connect CVIA 	CME2
Connect CME1 	CVIA
Connect CCON	CME1
Connect	CPOL	CCON
Connect NGATE	CPOL
Connect NSD	CCON
Connect PGATE	CPOL
Connect PSD	CCON
Connect NSUB	SICONT
Connect PSUB	SICONT
Connect CCON	SICONT

Attach LABEL CME1
Attach LABEL CPOL

; Define device name, gate, source/drain, substrate and connection

ELEMENT MOS[myNMOS]  NGATE   NSD    NSUB   SICONT
ELEMENT MOS[myPMOS]  PGATE   PSD    PSUB   SICONT

integration_ex05.map

CNWI        drawing    1     0
CNWI        res        1     3
CNWI        nodrc      1     4
CTOX        drawing    2     0
CTOX        pin        2     1
CTOX        res        2     3
CFLD        drawing    4     0
CSTI        drawing    5     0
CNOS        drawing    6     0

CRES        drawing    9     0
CCAP        drawing    10    0
CPOL        drawing    11    0
CPOL        pin        11    1
CPOL        res        11    3
CNPI        drawing    12    0
COX3        drawing    13    0
CHVC        drawing    24    0
CPPI        drawing    14    0
CPO2        drawing    15    0
CCON        drawing    16    0
CME1        drawing    17    0
CME1        pin        17    1
CME1        res        17    3
LABEL	    label      63    0

Related Articles